CHURCH AT HOME

New Street Baptist Church
4 min readSep 20, 2020

New Street Baptist Church-20 Sept 2020

Welcome to the new format of CHURCH AT HOME. We welcome you to the weekly service and pray that you are well. We miss seeing you at church and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pastor Richard Williams is preaching the word and Yaa is leading us in worship and prayer. If you’re thinking of coming back please make sure you book your place here: Booking

Psalm 111:1–8
Great are the Lord’s Works
1 Praise the LORD! I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart, in the company of the upright, in the congregation.
2 Great are the works of the LORD, studied by all who delight in them.
3 Full of splendour and majesty is his work, and his righteousness endures forever.
4 He has caused his wondrous works to be remembered; the LORD is gracious and merciful.
5 He provides food for those who fear him; he remembers his covenant forever.
6 He has shown his people the power of his works, in giving them the inheritance of the nations.
7 The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy;
8 they are established forever and ever, to be performed with faithfulness and uprightness.

Prayer activity

  • What are some of the characteristics of God or how do you describe God?
  • What has happened this week that you are thankful for?
  • Think about someone that you would like to pray for in this church, your family or at school/work

Sharing

Raphael wanted to share what he’s been studying in the Bible this week

Genesis 8:21
21 And when the LORD smelled the pleasing aroma, the LORD said in his heart, “I will never again curse the ground because of man, for the intention of man’s heart is evil from his youth. Neither will I ever again strike down every living creature as I have done.

So you often hear unbelievers saying ‘How do you know God is real?’ or ‘What human evidence do I have of Godly things?’

When I read that verse, what I would answer then is this: read what God almighty is saying, that He himself felt he made a mistake due to His anger and showed regret and compassion and indecision in His own actions (the flood). If that is not evidence of a true living God that truly resembles man and vice versa, then I don’t know what is. With all the scripture available to us, He allows us to really understand the lesson’s because they’re tangible and concrete and this Genesis verse really shows insight into God’s mind which I found particularly fascinating.

Steve wanted to share Psalm 30:5

Joy comes in the morning
5
For his anger is but for a moment, and his favour is for a lifetime. Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning.

Particularly this week Steve has been listening to the song ‘Do it again’ where it has this verse of encouragement:

I know the night won’t last
Your Word will come to pass
My heart will sing Your praise again
Jesus, You’re still enough
Keep me within Your love
My heart will sing Your praise again

As a way of encouragement for those that are thinking ‘when will all of this end’ we have God’s promise that although there may be pain in the night, joy comes in the morning’ and actually this can be applied to this season of unknown. We know it won’t be forever and we know that when the time is right God will bring us through and we will be able to praise Him together again.

Jane sent this card of encouragement to the church

To all of my church family, I think and pray for each of you often.

I am sorry that I have not been able to come to church recently since the restart after COVID-19. Partly it is my own health and more recently the continued need to protect my Mum, as I look after her (no brownie points please!) and need to protect her.

Next week I will send through on the usual sharing channel a prayer that I wrote. In the meantime, keep strong in whatever challenges that you are facing, every day, God kisses us, with the beauty of HIS peace and soothes us to all our striving as cease (Graham Kendrick song — Do Not Strive.

God bless and prayers. Love in Christ.
Jane

We pray for you and your mum Jane and ask God to protect you both

We hope you enjoyed this new format and look forward to being with you again soon. Next weeks message will be given by Brian Luker at 10.00am.

--

--